Keep a clean dataset by merging those duplicated records in no time. Select from the available information to keep only what you need from the two records.
User Permissions: No special permissions are required to use this feature.
Navigate to Apps
There are a few different ways to get to the app you want.
1. Left Menu
2. App Home Screen
3. Search Bar
Select the records you wish to merge by clicking the checkbox right next to their names and then click the 'Merge' button.
Note: This feature is not available for Apps with Lines, even those with lines that have been deactivated. It is also not possible to merge more than 2 records at once.
In the merge window, you will be able to select the information that you want to keep in the resulting record. To make it easier, you can choose between the two selected records by clicking on their card to keep that information as the base for the new record. You can review all fields individually as well.
All emails, notes and attachments from the 'Deleted' record will persist in the merged record, which will retain the same record ID as the one you've chosen as your base record. When ready, click 'Merge' to consolidate this data into a single record.
A few things to keep in mind:
1. Once the two records are merged, one of them is marked as deleted and it will appear in the deleted records section.
2. All the related list records for the deleted record will refer to the one that was “kept” during the merge.
3. Hence, if the deleted record is restored its related list records will keep referring to the “kept” record.
Note: this feature is meant only to merge existing information, you are not able to add new information.