Activity Roll-Up is a great feature that enables your Activities to be shared automatically from one App to Another as they are created. This way you can share all the Activities vertically between the Out-of-the-Box Apps: Contacts, Accounts, and Opportunities, and stay on top of emails, notes, next steps.
Edition Qualifier: This feature is available in all FreeAgent Editions.
User Permissions: Only the Administrators can use this feature.
In this tutorial, we will cover the following topics:
Navigate to Activity Roll-Up
Open the menu and go to 'Admin Settings' to display the available options, then click 'Activity Roll-Up'. You can also use the search function to get there faster, just start typing 'Activity Roll-Up'.
When active, the Activity Roll-Up allows activities to be shared between the 3 out-of-the-box Apps: Contacts, Accounts, and Opportunities.
There are three existing rules for sharing activities automatically:
- From Contacts to Opportunities
- From Contacts to Accounts
- From Accounts to Opportunities
This means complete transparency between the information provided at each level of the Sales flow. If you added a note in the Contact's Activity Timeline, you will be able to see it both in the Account and Opportunity, as long as the Activity Roll-Up rule is active.
Deactivate/Activate Activity Roll-Up
You can decide to deactivate them all, as there is a manual process to share activities between apps. To learn more, please visit the following tutorial:
Just select the Activity Roll-Up and then click the 'Deactivate' button.
Deactivating the Roll-up 'from Contacts to Opportunities' means that the activities recorded on the Contacts App will not be available on the Opportunities App.
For the 'from Contacts to Accounts' roll-up the activities that are originated in the Contacts app won't be available in the Accounts App.
When the last Roll-up 'from Accounts to Opportunities' is deactivated, the activities from the Accounts app will not appear on the Opportunities app.
Note: Changing the settings will only impact the activities created from that point forward. The change will be also carried out for all the users of your team.
The Activity Roll-up will give you full control over how the information is shared between the 3 out of-the-box apps: Contacts, Accounts, and Opportunities.