Your Saved Views in FreeAgent CRM can all be accessed and managed in a single place for your convenience.
User Permissions: You must be an Admin to use this feature
In this tutorial, we will cover the following topics:
- Creating and Saving Views
- Where you can Access your Saved Views
- Re-Order Favorite Views
- Bookmark your Saved Views
- Export your Saved View
- Managing Your Saved Views
- Access your Saved Views
Creating and Saving Views
Saving Views will help you get the information you need faster. You can keep your favorite filters as 'Saved Views' so that you don’t have to apply filters to your data every time. 'Saved Views' can be created for any app within FreeAgent CRM including custom ones.
There is an infinite amount of Saved Views you can create to access your information faster, depending on the filters you apply to your information.
The Save Button
Let's go over every component of the 'Save' button when it comes to saving and changing our views.
You can update your existing Saved views by adding more filters, changing the configuration, and adding some sorting options. If you decide to update it and you want to keep this new version, click the 'Save' button. This is a great option to keep your Saved views up-to-date, without having to create multiple new ones. You can also opt to create a new Save View if you want to keep both views by clicking the 'Save as New View' option.
Note: Clicking the 'Save' button will overwrite the existing view with the changes you have made. If you want to keep the old view as well as the new one do not click 'Save'.
If you make changes to an existing Saved view there will be a red dot next to the name showing that changes haven't been saved. If you navigate to another view within FreeAgent CRM, the system will temporarily save those changes. You can navigate back, with the back arrow of your browser to get to your unsaved changes, however, if you navigate back from the menu, then the view will be restored to its original state.
2. Save as New
Choose this option if you have just configured your view and want to save it while keeping the old one intact. Saved Views are created based on filters, sorts, and view types, but they will also save the order and width of the columns in the list view for example, or any other configuration you have applied in any view. To learn more about Filters, please visit the following tutorial:
The following window will appear after you click 'Save as New'.
- Choose a name for your new view.
- Decide whether or not you would like to share it with your team.
- You can give your team read-only access or full editing capabilities.
- You can also choose to copy over the Dashlet from the original view.
3. Rename Saved Views
This will simply allow you to rename the view you are currently in. The following window will appear once you've selected 'Rename'.
4. Share a Saved View with your Team
Sharing your saved views is super easy. Whether you are creating the view or if it already exists, enable the 'Share with Team' checkbox, and select the appropriate Team Visibility. There are two options:
- Read-only. They will be able to see the View but they won't be able to make any changes to it.
- Full Edit Access. Your team members will be able to see the view and will have full editing rights to the view.
When shared, all your users will have access to the saved view and thanks to their unique URLs, you will be able to copy and paste the URL and send it to your entire team for them to see.
5. Delete View
You can delete views that you've created or that you have access to as an Admin. However, you cannot delete system views.
6. Discard Changes
Think of this like an 'Undo' button for views. If you made changes to an existing view and would like to revert back to the original, simply click this button.
Where You Can Access Your Saved Views
Add them to the main menu
Once you've created and saved a view you'll notice a new option in the "Save" menu.
You can now add your view to the menu. Once you do you'll see it in the left menu under the heading "My Views" for the application it's assigned to.
You can remove the view from the menu by going back to the "Save" menu and clicking "Remove from Menu".
The Main Apps Screen
Hover over any App icon to see your views appear right underneath. Click on a view to navigate to it.
Other Menus for Your Views
There are a few other menus you can add your saved views to for easy access.
1. Title List
Hover your cursor over the little arrow next to the title of the current view and you'll get a dropdown list of all available views for that app.
You can add your view to the Favorites list in the left menu by clicking on the little star icon next to the view name.
Note: Favorite Views work at a user level, the views you favorite will only be available to you in the menu.
You will be able to find your Favorite Saved Views in two different locations:
Located at the top of the menu. This will include a list of all your Favorite Views for all your Apps.
App Title Menu
As mentioned earlier you can click on the title of the application you're in to reveal all shared saved views as well as your favorites.
If you are an Administrator or App admin, and you want to learn how to add views or dashboards to the menu of an Apps for all your team members, please visit the following tutorial:
Re-Order Favorite Views
You have the option to organize the Views located in the Favorite section at the top of the menu. All you have to do is click on the Favorites 'star' whether the menu is open or closed. Once you do, the Re-order favorites window will be displayed. Here just drag & drop your views in the desired order and click the 'Save' button.
Bookmark your Saved Views
You can also bookmark pages you want to get to quickly in your browser and navigate right to them thanks to their unique URLs.
Export your Saved View
Navigate to any of your existing Save views and then click on the export icon in the top right corner of the screen. You have three options for exporting your view.
- Schedule Report
To learn more about exporting views and data in FreeAgent see the following article:
Managing Your Saved Views
Note: You must be an Admin to use these features.
Go to Reporting > Views in your left menu.
'Views' is available to Admins on your team, therefore it includes your saved views and those of your team members. If you are the team's administrator if you delete any of them it will remove them for everyone in your team.
Access your Saved Views
This page displays a list of all the Saved Views created by you and your team members. This list includes the Saved View's name, the App it was created for, and the name of the team member that created the Saved View. Here you can also see if a Saved View was shared with the entire team or not, the date of its creation and when it was last edited.
To go to any of the Saved Views on the list, just click its name.
Search and Filter Views
Thanks to the search functionality you will be able to find the View you are looking for by just typing its name in the search box. You can also use the advanced search to narrow down your Saved Views to display only those you need. To learn more about the advanced search, please visit the 'Advanced Search' section of the following tutorial:
You can also filter your views. You can do this by clicking on 'Filter' right next to the search bar. From here you filter your views based on who created the view, the team's access, or even who updated the view. You can also sort and group views just as you can within any of your applications within FreeAgent.