The Activity timeline is a really powerful feature within FreeAgent CRM. It allows you to visualize any current or past activities for all the records in your different apps, meaning your contacts, accounts, deals or any custom ones you have created.
Here you can see any sent or received emails, phone calls placed to any contact, notes or mentions to your team members as well as attachments.
In this tutorial we will review everything that you need to know about the Activity timeline, including some of its most powerful features:
- Customizing the Activity Timeline sharing process between your Apps (Activity Roll-Up)
- Upload files to your Apps' Activity Timeline
- Delete Activities from your Activity Timeline
- Share Activities from one App to another
- Apply filters in the Activity Timeline
- Pinning Activities
Let's get started!
To get started, click on your profile picture and click on 'Settings' (1). Then click on 'Activity Roll-Up' (2) in the menu that will come up, on the left-hand side.
There are three existing rules for sharing activities automatically:
- From Contacts to Deals
- From Contacts to Accounts
- From Accounts to Deals
You can decide to deactivate them all if you rather do this process manually as described in the following tutorial:
To deactivate them, first select the rule by clicking on the circle right on the left side. Then click the 'Deactivate' button.
A dialog box will appear requesting that you confirm the process. If you want to proceed, click on the 'Deactivate' button.
Deactivating the Roll-up 'from Leads to Deals' means that the activities recorded on the Leads tab will not be available on the Deals Tab. For the 'from Leads to Deals' roll-up the activities that are originated in the Contacts app won't be available in the Deals Tab. When the last Roll-up 'from Accounts to Deals' is deactivated, the activities from the Accounts Tab will not appear on the Deals Tab.
It is important to mention that changing the settings will only impact the activities created from that point forward. The change will be also carried out for all the members of your team.
Great job! Deactivating Roll-ups will give you full control over how the information is shared between the 3 preexisting apps: Contacts, Accounts, and Deals.
Upload a file in the Activity Timeline
You can upload any file of the admitted formats mentioned above to your Tabs. To do so, click on the desired tab and select the entry for which you want to upload a file. On the Activity timeline, you will see the attachment icon on the lower right corner.
Click on it. This will open your computer's file manager. Browse your files and select the one you want to upload (1) and click 'Open' (2).
Wait a few seconds for the upload process to conclude. As soon as it is done, a Success message (1) will appear on the top right corner and the attachment will be visible in the activity section (2).
Done! You have successfully uploaded an attachment in the Activity Timeline of your Tabs in FreeAgent CRM. This will help you manage all your information in the same place and keep everyone on your team up-to-date.
With FreeAgent CRM you can manage your information as it best suits you. This, of course, includes the option to delete activities from your Activity Timeline. Whether it is a note that was meant to be added for a different contact or if you received an email with confidential information, you have full control over it and can decide to delete it.
Warning: This process cannot be undone so it is recommended that you verify before deleting the Activity, as it will be removed at an organization level which means that you and your team members won't be able to see it in the Activity Timeline.
The option to delete activities is available for all tabs that include the 'Activity Timeline'. To delete an activity, go to the desired tab and in the 'Activity' section, hover over any of the 'Activities' with your mouse, you will notice an 'X right next to the share activities arrow.
You will need to confirm that you wish to continue by clicking the 'Delete' button in the confirmation dialog.
Once you do, the selected activity will be deleted from the Activity timeline and will no longer be available for anyone in your team.
Have you ever added a note or received an email for one of your contacts or in any other element within your existing tabs, but you also needed to see it somewhere else? If this is the case, then we have the solution! This is made possible thanks to the function that allows you to share activities between your tabs in FreeAgent CRM.
Activity sharing is available for all tabs that include the 'Activity Timeline'. To start sharing activities, go to the desired tab and in the 'Activity' section, hover over any of the 'Activities' with your mouse, you will notice an arrow right next to the 'X' to delete the content.
Click on the arrow and the sharing options will appear. Here you can select between all your existing Tabs to share your activity.
Then you need to either select one of the suggested entries or you can start typing to find the specific element to share the activity. For this example, we want to share the 'Call' to one of the existing deals called 'FedEx Deal'. To do this, we select the desired tab and element (1) and then click on the 'Share' button (2). In the 'Shared On' section (3) you can see all the elements on which the activity has been shared.
Once you click on share, the activity will be available on the target element. Right below the team member's name, there will be a legend that indicates that the activity was shared and will include its origin, which you can click on to go to it.
Well done! Now that you have shared activities between your tabs you can be sure that the information is always available where it is needed the most, to keep everyone in the loop.
Apply filters in the Activity Timeline
It is possible to apply filters in your activity timeline, to view only those entries that you are interested in. You can select just one or more types of activities in your filters, by clicking the filter icon available on the right-hand side of the Activity section.
This will display the available filters, where you can select one or more types. As soon as you start applying them, you will notice that the information available in the Activity Timeline will change.
The red dot in the filters icon indicates that there are filters applied.
Filters in the Activity timeline allow you to easily visualize the different types of activities in each of your records and they are available in all your Apps.
Now you can pin the activities in the Activity Timeline so that it is easier for you to find them whenever you need them. Pinning activities is really simple, all you need to do is hover over with your mouse cursor over an activity to display the options. There you will notice a little pin right next to the Share icon.
When you click on it, the Activity will be pinned to the timeline. The pinned activity will change to a light blue background and a red dot will appear next to the pin icon to show that there are activities pinned.
If you click the pin in the right-hand side corner of the Activity timeline section, you can display all your currently pinned activities.
To show all activities again, just click on the little 'X' right next to the pin icon.
In case you want to unpin an activity, just hover over the activity to display the options and click the pin icon again.