We know that transparency is critical between your team, especially for those really important updates made to a contact or to a potential deal. This is why, by default, FreeAgent CRM applies a rule that shares all activity made within a particular contact, to the account it belongs to and also to a deal where that same contact is assigned to. So anything that is visible on Leads will be visible on Accounts and then on Deals. If the content is however created on the Account, then it will only be visible on the Deal if any, and that originated on the Deal is visible on the Deal only.
But what happens if you rather not have the information go through this process and you want to skip the accounts for example? Then you only need to update the settings for this feature.
To get started, click on your profile picture and click on 'Settings' (1). Then click on 'Activity Roll-Up' (2) in the menu that will come up, on the left-hand side.
There are three existing rules for sharing activities automatically:
- From Leads to Deals
- From Leads to Accounts
- From Accounts to Deals
You can decide to deactivate them all if you rather do this process manually as described in the following tutorial:
To deactivate them, first select the rule by clicking on the circle right on the left side. Then click the 'Deactivate' button.
A dialog box will appear requesting that you confirm the process. If you want to proceed, click on the 'Deactivate' button.
Deactivating the Roll-up 'from Leads to Deals' means that the activities recorded on the Leads tab will not be available on the Deals Tab. For the 'from Leads to Deals' roll-up the activities that are originated in the Contacts app won't be available in the Deals Tab. When the last Roll-up 'from Accounts to Deals' is deactivated, the activities from the Accounts Tab will not appear on the Deals Tab.
It is important to mention that changing the settings will only impact the activities created from that point forward. The change will be also carried out for all the members of your team.
Great job! Deactivating Roll-ups will give you full control over how the information is shared between the 3 preexisting apps: Contacts, Accounts, and Deals.